Packers president confirms whose number will be retired next

Packers president confirms whose number will be retired next

There are just half a dozen numbers that have been retired by the Green Bay Packers.

Team president Mark Murphy confirmed Monday whose jersey will be the next to be reserved forever.

The only six players to have their uniform number retired by the organization are halfback Tony Canadeo (No. 3), quarterback Brett Favre (No. 4), wide receiver Don Hutson (No. 14), quarterback Bart Starr (No. 15), linebacker Ray Nitschke (No. 66) and defensive end Reggie White (No. 92). Favre’s jersey was the last to be retired when it happened in 2015.



Despite the less-than-ideal way that Aaron Rodgers and the Packers ended their relationship, the decision is an easy one.



Among the 49 passers in Green Bay history with at least 20 completions, Rodgers has the best completion percentage at 65.3% and of all players with more than 49 pass attempts, he has the best quarterback rating 103.6. He also has the most touchdown passes (475) and highest passing yards per game (256.8) of any player who’s suited up for the iconic franchise.



Rodgers is second in Packers history, only trailing Favre, in a host of categories including games played (230), wins (147), completions (5,001), passing yards (59.0555), game-winning drives (31) and fourth-quarter comebacks (21).

Packers president confirms whose number will be retired next



On top of all of the individual statistics, the 39-year-old is also a 10-time Pro Bowler, four-time first-team All-Pro and four-time MVP. Rodgers also led Green Bay to their most recent championship, helping them win Super Bowl XLV over the Pittsburgh Steelers and earning MVP honors.


Packers Tight End On Track To Be Week 1 Starter

Packers’ RB ends his offseason in the best way possible